The Column grounds will observe regular hours during the restoration unless otherwise noted. Access to the interior of the Column will be prohibited, however, after Memorial Day through the end of June, but should otherwise be open to visitors during regular hours throughout the restoration. Guests are advised to call the Astoria Column (503.325.2963), visit the website (astoriacolumn.org) or check social media feeds (facebook.com/astoriacolumn and twitter.com/astoriacolumn) for the latest information prior to their visit.
NOTE: DUE TO STAGING OF EQUIPMENT, ACCESS TO THE COLUMN AND GROUNDS WILL BE LIMITED OR PROHIBITED MAY 26-27, 2015.
That’s how the Astoria Budget captured Electus Litchfield’s reaction when he visited the proposed monument site in 1925. It is his architectural brilliance that would help raise a 125-foot column from the ground at that location the following year.
Standing above the city–600 feet above sea level to be exact–the Astoria Column unleashes an unrivaled view of Young’s Bay, the Coast Range, the mighty Columbia River, and in the distance—the Pacific Ocean. Its light shines each night as a silent testament to the pride, fortitude, and resolve of the people who settled the Pacific Northwest, and to those who live here today.
While the city of Astoria is home to approximately 10,000 people, it’s estimated that 300,000 more visit the Astoria Column each year. The Column is among the most visited parks in the state of Oregon, and is one of the city’s greatest attractions.
Modeled after the Trajan Column in Rome, the Astoria Column features a hand-painted spiral frieze that would stretch more than 500 feet if unwound. The monument was dedicated in 1926, and has since undergone several restorations.